Notary Rotary
NNA not promoting Va Notaries Anymore
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to September, 2005 Index

Posted by newlysmomva on 9/13/05 3:12pm
Msg #64976

I just read an article on the NNA website that they would no longer promote Va notaries because CRESPA says that people handling funds must be licensed title agents and a notary MIGHT handle a check. Are all Va notaries participated in this site also licensed as title agents? Just interested....I have been a title agent for years and years, but didn't do closings until very recently. Why would anyone from Va join the NNA if that is true.

Reply by Art_MD on 9/13/05 9:33pm
Msg #65035

As you probably know, MD requires a Title producer's Licenses to do refi's or helocs with title insurance.

The NNA has a large presence in the minds of a lot of SSs and TCs. They know that NNA has a large database of members. They will use that database and look for a note saying that they are a Title Producer.
Whenever a new SS or TC calls, I always ask how they got my name. A large number say from the NNA list. For the small $$, it's cheap marketing.

Art

Reply by newlysmomva on 9/14/05 7:31am
Msg #65085

So they will still list Va notaries if they are also title agents? I was under the impression from the article that they would not list VA people at all.

Reply by LilyMD on 9/14/05 8:52am
Msg #65106

Re: My two cents worth

I have to have a title producer's license in MD, yet my brother-in-law, a loan broker doesn't require any special licensing here because he works under his firm's umbrella. What really burns me up is the cost of doing business as a NSA in MD (bonds aren't cheap is one thing) and I am only legally able to tell a borrower that they will need to contact their loan officer with their questions. They're contacting someone like my brother-in-law! Who dreamed up this system??? I hope Virginia does it better.

Reply by Art_MD on 9/14/05 9:30am
Msg #65117