Notary Rotary
ID Problem? Not so much. RE: Texas Jane vs. Texas Janie
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to October, 2006 Index

Posted by BrendaTx on 10/14/06 10:01am
Msg #152495

Every so often I like to publish information on NotaryRotary.com to remind notaries in Texas that they are not governed by California Law, nor a huge "organization" where they may have recieved their "certification" through, or ANY handbook created or published which is not taken specifically from Texas law.

Here is a letter I wrote this morning regarding a reverse mortgage transaction. This was addressed to the loan officer and to the escrow officer at title. All names have been changed to protect the innocent. DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT A LAWYER. I DON'T GIVE LEGAL ADVICE. THIS IS MY OPINION. In respect to Harry's recent concerns about legal problems, the bully's name has been changed as well.

===========Letter to Lender and Title==============

Hi Debbie (LO) and Donna (TC):

FYI, the Janie Browning reverse mortgage signing took place without a hitch.

However, there's a note to add about Mrs. Browning and what's on her ID (Texas Driver's License).

Even though her ID said Jane and not "Janie" I went ahead and did the job because I do not find myself to be the "Mortgage Document Police." I am there to ID signers, not to tell title and mortgage lender how to do their work of giving loans.

However, if I wanted to play it "by the book" as written by the Xxxxxxx Notary Organization, like so many notaries do, I would have rejected that ID and been well within my right to do so by >>California<< rules. Her driver's license said "Jane Browning" not "Janie Browning."

Now, I am telling you this because I want you to know the mentality of many of the notaries out there you are dealing with.