Notary Rotary
Just withdrew from a closing - still no docs
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to May, 2007 Index

Posted by Sharon Taylor on 5/25/07 1:05pm
Msg #192000

I have never done this before, but I finally have had enough! I accepted a closing in one county yesterday for 4:30 this afternoon, overnight docs. This morning I accepted a closing in a different county for 1 PM, email docs.
I also accepted a third closing for 7 or later (flexible time), and it turns out the L.O. never bothered to check with the borrower, or he would have known that the borrower's spouse is out of town until Monday. So scratch that one.
These were for three different agencies/title companies.
It is now 12:30, and the agency for the 1 PM closing still has no idea when docs
will be received. That location is a 1-1/2 hour drive from me, and it is over 1-1/2 hours from the 4:30 closing location.
The borrowers for the 1 PM closing had planned to leave on a long-planned weekend trip yesterday but postponed it to today after the L.O. called them yesterday morning. They were just waiting to sign so they could leave ASAP today instead.
I turned down two other close and well-paying closings because I couldn't effectively fit them into the schedule.
Rather than mess up my 4:30 closing, which was scheduled first, I decided it was time to "just say no" and withdraw from the 1 PM closing, emphasizing that the only reason is the lateness of the documents which would make me extremely late for my other closing.
Sorry, but I am fed up with last-day-of-the-month-to-sign rush calls and very very very late docs, which requires you rush and scramble to try to juggle your schedule around to make everyone but you happy or at least satisfied.
Actually, I don't mind the last-minute rush calls anytime, even on the LDOTMTS day, and do all I can to accommodate everyone, but if they call on LDOTMTS day without even having any idea of when (or if) they'll have the docs....

Reply by DebbieT on 5/25/07 7:48pm