Notary Rotary
Notary Insurance Cancellation
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to May, 2007 Index

Posted by Martha Gall on 5/9/07 7:29pm
Msg #189593

When a notary passes away would there be any negative ramifications in canceling both the bond and E&O insurance? Prime reasons for even considering this is he was a new notary and the family could use the money from refunds.

Reply by Susan Fischer on 5/9/07 8:58pm
Msg #189605

Just my opinion, but if he was new, not many signings, and was not a negligent kind of person, I would think that suing a deceased person would be a waste of time, since he is now 'judgement proof.' I'm not a lawyer, but my common sense tells me a deceased person has no assets. I guess someone could make a claim against his estate, but that seems pretty unlikely if his estate isn't substantial. Also, if his estate is in probate, there is usually a statutory period of time for claims against the estate to be made, and once probate is closed, it would be pretty hard to sue/recover after the fact.

Again, only my humble opinion, and certainly not any kind of legal advice.

Also, you might want to be prepared for a "short rate" refund - calculated by some formula - rather than a "pro rated" refund - calculated by another formula - which will lessen your refund, but still be better than no refund. I don't know of too many insurance companies with a heart.

You have my sympathies, Martha,
Susie

Reply by Dennis D Broadbooks on 5/10/07 2:25pm
Msg #189719

My Suggestion...