Notary Rotary
Question for any R. E. Broker/Salesperson who is also a NSA
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to May, 2007 Index

Posted by Lee/AR on 5/6/07 9:14am
Msg #189056

I've been out of the field for about 6 years, but have both bought & sold property during that time in 2 states (but there are 48 more in which I have no personal experience).

My question is simply this: Is there any document in any state related to the actual 'purchase of property' that a Buyer signs where their signature is notarized? Please note: I am NOT talking about the mortgage docs, but the actual documents related to the purchase of property.

Reply by BrendaTx on 5/6/07 9:52am
Msg #189057

Not an RE person or a broker but here is one instance.

Yes. I am not sure how to explain this or if I am getting it exactly right but just take it as a for instance.

If a developer, for instance, has worked with power companies to have them lay the lines for power in a development then when a buyer purchases a lot in that development they agree to build a home on that lot within a certain amount of time. It's called in this instance, a Utility Service Agreement. It's acknowledged and filed of record with the recorder of deeds and it's required by state law to be filed. I don't have the citing or all the rules that require this but if you really need that info I will get it for you.

In this particulare instance, if the structure is not built within a certain time frame as agreed with the power company by the developer then the buyer agrees to pay a penalty under the contract of purchase and such is stated in the deed.

It doesn't matter if the lot was financed or if it was a cash deal.

Reply by BrendaTx on 5/6/07 9:54am
Msg #189058

Re: Not an RE person or a broker but here is one instance.

Lee, I know I don't have to say this for you, but to keep the content police from zapping me, what I just stated is in Texas. I don't know about any other state.

Reply by sue_pa on 5/6/07 10:05am