Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Questions for escrow officers, or whoever else...
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to September, 2010 Index

Posted by Hugh Nations Signing Agents of Austin on 9/5/10 11:45am
Msg #351617

...has the experience or background to give a knowledgable answer.

I have been a loan officer, but never a document processor or escrow officer, so I have limited grasp of how those positions function, or how a loan closing package is put together. My expertise in that area begins and essentially ends with the taking of a reverse mortgage app, and signing loans.

I had a package this week with two lender documents that included the following notarial certification, and one last week with an identical certification:

State of ____________

County of ______________

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority, on this day personally appeared ________________ .

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND SEAL OF OFFICE, this ______ day of ____________, ________.

Questions:

1. How do such deficient certifications make it into a document package?

2. Whose job is it to determine that such things do NOT happen?

3. Once they have been identified by someone, as, for example, a signing agent, whose job is it to correct them for future packaages, and how does the responsible party get the message that something needs to be corrected?

I also have had a lender doc that keeps cropping up with this as the notarial certification:

STATE OF _______________

COUNTY OF _____________

This has me really befuddled, and especially in today's climate, where so much emphasis is placed on error-free performance by signing agents, yet glaring errors such as this not only get made by lenders, but repeated in packet after packet.