Notary Rotary
Loan Application for Reverse Mortgage
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to May, 2011 Index

Posted by Aurora Johnson Benchmark Notary Services on 5/27/11 1:27pm
Msg #384528

I am new to the notary field, doing some investigation, study, research etc. I came across the term loan application for reverse mortgage and was wondering what this involved for a notary. What exactly does the notary do at such a signing? I understand that there is really no notary work per se as much as there is just the job of making sure all the needed documents id etc are returned to the lender as per their instructions. Can any of you with experience in doing a loan application for reverse mortgage give me some insight into this?
Thanks

Reply by MW/VA on 5/27/11 2:01pm
Msg #384533

You're right, there are no notarizations. It's about having someone physically to go over the app. with them & get it signed correctly. Some will say that it takes almost as long as an actual loan signing, and doesn't pay near as much. I've done a few & they aren't bad IMO. If you're new to the field, I wouldn't suggest you get involved with RM's until you have gained some experience. They require some extra patience, etc.

Reply by Ireneky on 5/27/11 2:16pm
Msg #384536

Got burned on one those. Loan didn't go thru=no pay at all n/m

Reply by HrdwrkrVA on 5/27/11 7:11pm
Msg #384557

You men they stiffed you for the print & trip fee? I always

respond to new clients that those fees must be pd (out-of-pocket expenses), and have them respond to my email that they agree to pay. Otherwise, I let them find another victim or someone else willing to throw their time & money away. Even if they stiff you, you have an amended contract & grounds to sue/ file complaint w/ BBB, etc & most of all, warn others about them on NotRot. Then they be like SOX (how DO they stay in business???), making hundreds of calls to fill one closing (or so we hope)!

Reply by nunu on 5/27/11 2:25pm
Msg #384539