Notary Rotary
Too friendly of borrowers
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to November, 2011 Index

Posted by Cupguy/Ar on 11/16/11 9:19pm
Msg #404261

I have listened to so many nightmare stories about irrate borrowers or spouses. Had just a few of those but not as bad. O.K. how about too friendly of borrowers. I have several that
just because I am such a nice guy, they don't want me to leave! Ask me to stay for dinner
and open an expensive bottle of an adult beverage. I tell them I can't because I am a PROFESSIONAL! Not happy with me. I had one little old lady whose husband was quite ill.
We did the signing and she said "Can you stay for a little while." "My husband has taken his
pills and he will be out in a few minutes." She opened up the refrigerator and said "Look here." It was stocked. She just wanted somebody to talk to. Hard to do but you can't stick around.

Reply by HisHughness on 11/16/11 9:24pm
Msg #404262

***"My husband has taken hispills and he will be out in a few minutes." ***

Hmmmm...Just how friendly was this lady?

Reply by Cupguy/Ar on 11/16/11 11:38pm
Msg #404273

O.K. Should I leave no matter what? Or if they invite me to stay a while
can I stay? I have always felt I need to go. What would the SS think?

Reply by LKT/CA on 11/16/11 10:05pm
Msg #404267

I notarized for a truck driver at Taco Bell (GNW). I sensed he was lonely and wanted me to stay and chat. My schedule was free so I did. He did most of the talking but it was interesting chat, I actually enjoyed listening to him. Left Taco Bell two hours later.

In some cultures, it is an insult to refuse their hospitality (as you described - offer of a meal and an adult beverage). With that said, you have the right to refuse whatever you want. Elderly people come from a generation where food was the focal point of a visit. JMHO

Reply by Susan Fischer on 11/16/11 11:03pm
Msg #404269

My culture. True, I'm a gregarious gal, and enjoy the

company and discourse, with new friends and old peeps.