Notary Rotary
References?
Notary Discussion History

References?
Go Back to December, 2012 Index

Posted by Shan/CA on 12/31/12 1:44pm
Msg #448278

References?

What do you all think? Has any company ever contacted your refs? Do you all list any? As a newbie I don't have 3. One company is asking for business or personal, so that makes me a little more comfortable. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
Shan

Reply by Reggie007 on 12/31/12 2:11pm
Msg #448285

Shan, welcome to the forum and good luck in your new undertaking... I suggest you use a personal banker, a close friend, and perhaps your pastor. You will have to do this type until you do a few closings. Then use them...Send a photo also. Perhaps a resume' If after explaining to them you are new and they remain aloof, move on..you don't need them and they don't need you.

Reply by Shan/CA on 12/31/12 2:21pm
Msg #448288

Thanks! So far when companies ask for 3 biz refs, I just skip on down the road because I assumed they want companies that I have worked for.

Reply by HisHughness on 12/31/12 2:13pm
Msg #448286

The potential need for a reference is one reason I have always remained on good terms with my bookie and the local fence.

Reply by MistarellaFL on 12/31/12 2:25pm
Msg #448289

A bit of advice about offering business references to SS's:

With SS, you should provide references from other SS only.
I don't recommend providing SS's with any TC references, you may find that the SS's marketing team may pursue YOUR TC's for YOUR closings!
Beware of the practice!

Reply by Shan/CA on 12/31/12 2:57pm
Msg #448294

Re: A bit of advice about offering business references to SS's:

Thanks, good info to know!

Reply by BrendaTx on 12/31/12 4:38pm
Msg #448296

In fact, Shan/CA - that's what those are about.

They are looking to find more work for their SS.

Reply by Linda_H/FL on 12/31/12 2:37pm
Msg #448291

My .02 FWIW