Notary Rotary
Tax Preparers
Notary Discussion History

Tax Preparers
Go Back to December, 2012 Index

Posted by chucke/fl on 12/19/12 9:35pm
Msg #447159

Tax Preparers

Are there any signing agents out there that also work as tax preparers during tax season?
If so, how do you balance the two jobs?

Reply by John Tennant on 12/19/12 11:40pm
Msg #447169

What do you mean by "balancing" the two jobs?

Reply by sueharke on 12/20/12 12:07am
Msg #447171

I am a CPA and mobile notary who will do real estate signings. I prioritize the type of work between tax returns and notary signings. This year may not be as hard to decide which service to provide as the tax laws are still undefined and the start of tax season is unsure at this date. Personally, given a choice, I will do a tax return over a notary signing since I am independent for each type of service. I find the chance to save a client money on his or her tax return is more satisfying than a notary signing (this includes tax planning to move money into 2012 from 2013 to pay less taxes). With a notary signing common issues of no docs, late docs, cancelled signings, etc for the pay is not as satisfying as saving a client a lot of money on his or her taxes.

Now the other side of discussion. The notaries that are full-time professional IC with a consistent list of clients, would probably find more pleasure performing notary services. I respect the notaries who are in this group and love learning from their experience to be a better notary.

Reply by ArtG/KS on 12/20/12 7:24am
Msg #447183

Multi tasking and prioritizing.

For twelve years Ive been a real estate licensee, (also did a bit of auctioneering) Signing Agent and insurance inspector. During the first four years I also was substitute teaching at two school districts and a litttle bit of college level teaching too. You do have to prioritize when doing all that.