Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
How long before signing appointment should docs be received?
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to October, 2012 Index

Posted by QDR/Tx on 10/22/12 1:09pm
Msg #439678

I am relatively new to being an independent CNSA, although I have closed loans for many years. I have a signing scheduled for this afternoon with the borrower and sellers and do not have any documents yet to review and prepare for the signing appointment. I haven't had this issue before (not having docs for my appointment) and was just curious what others thought was a reasonable amount of time. I am thinking of backing out because this ss has been very uncommunicative and I need time to get the documents in order to assure no mistakes. I don't think it is the ss fault as they claim they do not yet have docs from the lender/title company to send me yet.

Reply by ToniK on 10/22/12 1:13pm
Msg #439681

Everyones time varies. Too many factors in consideration. If I have nothing scheduled after it, I can do late as 60 mins before. But If I have a full schedule, I hope they get them at least 2 hours before time, if not and I get the docs 30 mins before appt time (which happens often), they go at the end of my other appts or they can find another notary.

If you have to travel far then you would need more time. I keep all my assignments within a 15 mile radius. With traffic and the fact I live near mountains and rural areas, 15 miles can cover alot and alot of traffic as well.

Reply by QDR/Tx on 10/22/12 1:23pm
Msg #439683