Questions - Visa -Part I & Apostille - Part II
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to October, 2012 Index

Posted by BrendaTx on 10/7/12 3:00pm
Msg #437558

Part I - Visa

I'm not a Visa expert (yet!!!!). Smile I received a request the other day from a person who seeks a visa to travel to Italy. He did not say whether or not it was a business or tourist visa.

He wanted me to notarize a copy of his marriage license from Indiana and his birth certificate from Alabama to be submitted with his visa application.

Of course, I cannot "notarize" a copy of his birth certificate or his marriage license. (Yep, I know that I can indeed let him write a statement about those documents and notarize it, but I don't always think that is the best idea, either.) I was out of the country myself and could not accommodate the request. However, out of interest in this subject I looked to see what requirements there would be for issuing a visa to Italy that would generate this request. I did not note one right away.

Would anyone care to elaborate on why notarized copies of the above mentioned documents would be requested?

Part II - Apostilles

To me, it is not always acceptable to notarize statements attached to a marriage certificate or a birth certificate wherein the signer swears that it is a true/correct copy. It has come to my attention recently that some who request such requests also seek apostilles. Their purposes may be genuine, or they may be playing a sovereign citizen game. The secretary of state (or other authenticating government offices) does/do not hand out apostilles on any and every document these days.

I feel that I should find out from my SoS if they will even consider authenticating my notarial signature on such a document. Has anyone else given this thought?

Reply by LKT/CA on 10/7/12 3:19pm
Msg #437562