Notary Rotary
Refi with POA
Notary Discussion History

Refi with POA
Go Back to October, 2012 Index

Posted by BoomerSooner on 10/18/12 10:06am
Msg #439039

Refi with POA

I have been doing Refi's as a NSA for two years now and today I have my first one with the signer having a power of attorney. I have been refreshing and researching the correct way to ensure I get this correct. Any advice or guidance? Thanks

Reply by Shoshana/AZ on 10/18/12 10:13am
Msg #439040

If you tell us who you are going to have the borrower sign and or intial, we can tell yuou if that's correct or not. Many times, you can get that info straight from the title co.

Reply by Buddy Young on 10/18/12 10:15am
Msg #439041

The person should sign: John S. Smith by Jane M. Smith, attorney in fact.

Reply by sigtogo/OR on 10/18/12 11:04am
Msg #439048

not always the case. talk to title

I have had many that have "as" before the "attorney in fact" and if left out you may have a re-sign issue. yes, its picky, but true nonetheless.
i had one with the "as" included and the borrower didn't include it on a couple of the docs which I didn't notice until we had parted. I called title to see if it would be okay and they said absolutely not. Fortunately BO and I easily reconvened.

Reply by Clem/CA on 10/18/12 10:16am
Msg #439042

don't forget the initials js by js, attorney in fact

Reply by BoomerSooner on 10/18/12 10:27am
Msg #439044

Thats one i didnt think of, Initials ever have the attorney in fact statement?

Are there any docs they CANT sign with a POA such as affidavit?

Reply by Buddy Young on 10/18/12 10:32am
Msg #439046

#2.) No not that I know of.

Just be sure when you fill out your ack. that you only write in the person who appeared before you.

Reply by janCA on 10/18/12 10:34am
Msg #439047

The title company will instruct you on how to do the POA, these can differentiate from each title company and/or lender