Notary Rotary
Pricing
Notary Discussion History

Pricing
Go Back to April, 2013 Index

Posted by Cheryl Yeko on 4/5/13 7:51pm
Msg #464659

Pricing

Okay, I've been conducting closings for over ten years. I use to get $125 a closing...today, my standard is $100. But I've noticed recently that I'm losing out on tons of closings ... companies offering me $60. And when I tell them my price, they say they'll call if they get it approved...which they never do. I'm assuming someone ends taking it for a higher price, but lower than my $100.

Notaries would be crazy to take it at $60. That barely covers costs.

Any thoughts. How far down have the companies driven the fees for notary work?

Reply by closergrl on 4/5/13 8:00pm
Msg #464662

Hi Cheryl, so sorry that you are losing business to lower priced notaries. Stick to your fees, it's not worth it to lose money just to stay busy.

What part of WI are you in? I live in Duluth, MN; but am also commissioned in WI and cover the very North.

Reply by Yoli/CA on 4/5/13 8:08pm
Msg #464663

To answer your question ...

"How far down have the companies driven the fees for notary work?"

As far down as we, the notaries, allow.

Sadly, the further we bend backwards to keep a relationship by lowering our standards, the more we are taken advantage of. Eventually, something snaps! We wake up and realize we cannot continue taking that abuse and change our fees to a more conducive range or we give up and go out of business. Better to not start down that toxic path of low fees.

JMO

Reply by SheilaSJCA on 4/5/13 8:53pm
Msg #464671

well said Yoli! n/m

Reply by leeinla on 4/5/13 10:05pm
Msg #464688

Re: well said Yoli! _Agree and showing support! n/m

Reply by CH2inCA on 4/5/13 11:27pm
Msg #464692

Stick to your fees might help everyone