Notary Rotary
No disrespect to Accountable Agents
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to February, 2013 Index

Posted by Stoli on 2/23/13 3:40pm
Msg #457327

No disrespect to AA, but notaries are required to secure the journal because it contains the exact information you’re requesting---the borrowers’ personal, non-public information. How do you square the request with GLBA?

Reply by JPH13/MO on 2/23/13 4:41pm
Msg #457340

I'm guessing it isn't considered different than lenders who ask for a copy of IDs used, since they were assigned the job by the lender they should fall within the GLBA guidelines because of that, but I'm no lawyer. I did one for them and had the borrower fax the ID copy to them the next day so that I didn't ever end up with it. I don't feel right keeping a copy of IDs so that I can fax it later, and would rather not have to shred anything when they say in their instructions that the borrower can fax it to them the next day if they forgot to make a copy.

Reply by GOLDGIRL/CA on 2/23/13 4:42pm
Msg #457341

Respect or otherwise ....

I've never seen a SS with an official Privacy Policy as is contained in nearly every loan pkg from either the lender or the TC and often both.

As we all well know, there are way too many low-down, flea-bitten, dog-food selling SSs out there; and nearly every borrower I can think of would flip at the thought that all their personal info would be "residing" in one of their cockroach-infested file cabinets. For what purpose?

(Another reason to never give a copy of your DL to a SS. There as absolutely no semblance of privacy protection).

We as SAs are background checked up the wazoo and back and are required to sign agreements with every SS and TC we deal with to protect docs, limit access to our computers, keep our journals in a bomb-wired safe, etc., but any ole SS can expect us to turn over borrower info? Yikes! Wonder what the TC/lender would think of that?

Reply by CarolF/NC on 2/23/13 4:57pm
Msg #457343