Notary Rotary
Loan Applications vs. RESPA Signings
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to January, 2013 Index

Posted by PegiT_MN on 1/27/13 6:55pm
Msg #452565

I just noticed a few threads on here tonight discussing the fact that we as notary signing agents are not to be taking loan applications. It appears that an SS told a notary that another notary got in big trouble for doing this. That is correct, we are not supposed to be taking a loan application because we do not have an originator's license.

I was a mortgage broker/loan officer for ten years before becoming a notary signing agent and I just wanted to point out that there is a big difference between taking a loan application and doing a RESPA signing (which is what most of us are being asked to do).

A loan application is the part where the loan originator gathers all the information needed from the borrowers in order to get the file into underwriting. The originator will ask the borrower everything that is on that 1003 application, enter it into their software system, upload the credit report to show liabilities, discuss loan products, interest rates, and payment information with the borrower. The loan originator will then most likely upload all this information into some sort of underwriting software that is used by the lender and that in turn will generate a laundry list of items the borrowers need to provide to the loan originator and underwriter in order for the file to close. The originator will then print out the RESPA documents that are to be signed by the borrowers. These RESPA documents are time sensitive as they need to be signed within 3 business days from credit being pulled.