Notary Rotary
Mandatory Seminar from Service???
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to January, 2013 Index

Posted by Hiram on 1/29/13 8:10pm
Msg #453014

Just received an e-mail from Servicelink stating that I must attend a Mandatory Seminar in another city for about 2 hours and they offered to pay my parking if needed. During morning hours on a business day. Anyone else get this e-mail and comments, please. I thought I was an independent contractor. I've got to think this one over!!!

Reply by Yoli/CA on 1/29/13 8:55pm
Msg #453020

You may want to contact Vendor Management about this.

Reply by BrendaTx on 1/29/13 9:15pm
Msg #453028

I shake my head at some of the "requirements" that companies are demanding on their contractors.

It's like their main source of entertainment is "Dancing Notary Monkeys"

Hiram, I think if you are in an area where signing agents are not plentiful, they will still call you even if you do not take the training. Just my opinion. Smile

Reply by Lee/AR on 1/29/13 10:14pm
Msg #453036

Or it's just somebody trying to justify that they are 'doing something' to keep their job.

Reply by Karen Maxwell-Cervantes on 1/29/13 9:22pm
Msg #453029

I received the same email. It is downtown the traffic and parking is a nightmare. I wonder what they will be sharing with us. I will go and for those who can not make it I will share the infor with you. Here in San Antonio it is on Feb. 7th.

Reply by MikeC/TX on 1/29/13 11:50pm
Msg #453059

Why would you do this? Are you getting so much work from them that you really feel a need to put yourself through this? Anything they need to tell you can be done through a webinar - there's no reason you have to actually have to be there in person...

Reply by HSH/WA on 1/29/13 10:35pm
Msg #453046

Re: They should offer it on line. n/m

Reply by Moneyman/TX on 1/30/13 12:37am
Msg #453065

" Mandatory Seminar in another city for about 2 hours and they offered to pay my parking if needed."