Notary Rotary
Signature Affidavit
Notary Discussion History

Signature Affidavit
Go Back to July, 2013 Index

Posted by Patricia Roberts on 7/16/13 7:23pm
Msg #477030

Signature Affidavit

Hi everyone, I am a new notary signing agent and still have a lot to learn. Any advice you can give me will be greatly appreciated. But, I do have a question of an issue I ran into today. When there are 4 variations of the borrowers name on the signature affidavit and they only go by the first one do they have to sign all the variations as they are listed? I thought they only sign the variations that they go by but, I am getting a error message from the TC saying they did not sign the signature lines on the signature affidavit. Thanks for your input.

Reply by Linda_H/FL on 7/16/13 7:29pm
Msg #477032

They sign all variations. n/m

Reply by Yoli/CA on 7/16/13 7:30pm
Msg #477033

If a name appears that borrower does not accept as his, I have him write "not known as" in lieu of signature for that variation.

Reply by Linda_H/FL on 7/16/13 7:32pm
Msg #477036

I used to do the same Yoli - and had it rejected..

Somewhere those names popped up - so now I explain that to them and have them sign all names listed.

Reply by JanetK_CA on 7/16/13 10:50pm
Msg #477076

Re: I used to do the same Yoli - and had it rejected..

Twice in the past two months, with completely unrelated individuals, I've had borrowers say "That name is not me; it's my dad". So that's what they wrote on the signature line. (And one of them was a woman. Go figure.)

Reply by Notarysigner on 7/16/13 8:16pm
Msg #477046

Re: Signature Affidavit I do the same Yoli n/m

Reply by LKT/CA on 7/16/13 8:26pm
Msg #477053

I also do the same as Yoli