Notary Rotary
Notary/Realtor
Notary Discussion History

Notary/Realtor
Go Back to June, 2013 Index

Posted by Jodie Blanco on 6/27/13 11:22pm
Msg #474963

Notary/Realtor

I am a notary and realtor. I have a client that I am going to list her house for her but she wants to have her daughter and son in law sign the paper work. Because I am a notary also I can notarize a POA. My question would this be a situation that would benefit me? I am in California.

Reply by Beverly Henson on 6/27/13 11:26pm
Msg #474964

I don't think I could do it in Texas...but, I'm not licensed in CA, so I don't know. It feels uncomfortable to me.

Reply by leeinla on 6/27/13 11:34pm
Msg #474965

I too have a real estate license. Remember, their really suppose to be an arms length to your transaction. You could notarize as a notary, but you since you have a financial interest in the outcome I would not to it. Their are always legal and ethical questions that arise in our business. I would get another notary to notarize the P.O.A. JMO.

Reply by Jodie Blanco on 6/27/13 11:40pm
Msg #474966

Thanks, I also feel uncomfortable about it and just wanted my feelings confirmed. I will find them another notary.

Reply by GOLDGIRL/CA on 6/27/13 11:42pm
Msg #474967

So, you're the listing Realtor, and you will also notarize the owner's POA so her daughter and son-in-law can sign the seller docs? No, the situation would not benefit you because you are not named in the docs as a principal in the transaction. Yes, you get your commission .... just like notaries who are named in the HUD are not benefiting beyond their notary fee ... commissions/fees are not considered "financial or beneficial interest."