Notary Rotary
first time for me
Notary Discussion History

first time for me
Go Back to June, 2013 Index

Posted by mtnotary on 6/19/13 10:18pm
Msg #474047

first time for me

So I received a phone call tonight from a signing company wanting to know if I could do a Quicken loan in a job 35 miles away one way. They asked me my price I told them xxx and they then asked me...why? Why what I said. Why do you charge $1xx. I said because of the distance, time and the fact that there aren't a lot of Notaries up here.
In the many years that I have been a Certified Signing Agent I have never been asked why do I charge what I charge.
It really took me back and kind of rubbed me the wrong way.
How would you have answered the question?

Reply by LKT/CA on 6/19/13 10:28pm
Msg #474050

Me fee covers costs, time, and travel.

Reply by LKT/CA on 6/19/13 10:33pm
Msg #474051

"My" fee n/m

Reply by Susan Fischer on 6/19/13 11:05pm
Msg #474053

Agree, it's no one's business. I charge my fee, or, as I'm

rather partial to the dialectic, "me fee's me fee, an' that's me fee. Yes or no, I gotta go." <chuckle>

Reply by Sandra G Holland on 6/20/13 8:20am
Msg #474069

Re: Agree, it's no one's business. I charge my fee, or, as I'm

lol, Susan.

Reply by mtnotary on 6/20/13 9:00am
Msg #474071

Susan I love that n/m

Reply by pat/WA on 6/20/13 5:59pm
Msg #474134

Explanation

The reason they said Why is
This is a Quicken. Should take 15 to 20 minutes not including travel time. Usually documents are sent to the borrower so no printing.
Rarely do they pay $100 or more for a Quicken

Reply by Susan Fischer on 6/20/13 7:33pm
Msg #474145

Unless the BOs live 40 miles up the Coast Hwy, then up a

mountain on a goat trail...

Reply by pat/WA on 6/20/13 8:06pm
Msg #474154

Re: Unless the BOs live 40 miles up the Coast Hwy, then up a

You are right. That is when you tell them why you need more

Reply by Susan Fischer on 6/20/13 9:22pm
Msg #474164