Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Just PoliticsLeisure
Welcome to the Notary Talk General Discussion Forum. Before posting, please read the

Re: Orange search button
Posted by  JanetK_CA of CA on 9/11/17 11:49pm Msg #582832
I've been doing this work for about 15 years, so I'll have a go at answering some of your questions, one by one. [BTW, I posted on this topic in a more recent thread from today, but that was before I read this one. And I have more time tonight than I did then.]

"I bet you and others have a treasure chest of stories pertaining to notary work."

Yes, we sure do! And a huge number of them have already been posted on this forum, which is precisely why we refer people to the archives accessible via the orange search button. There's at least a decade and a half of stories from a very wide array of notaries, already there for the looking. Some of them are also incredibly funny, others extremely insightful, even if some of the info is dated. [There's also a lot of stuff and nonsense, but that can be skipped over.]

"By the same token, don't you experienced notaries learn from us newbies?"

Honestly? Rarely. Only if someone has a novel idea or comes up with a question that hasn't been addressed previously and it starts up a new discussion, but that's really unusual. The vast majority of the time, people ask the same kinds of questions that newbies have been asking for many years, and it's often extremely obvious that they haven't even made an attempt to find answers on their own. [An exception might be tech issues, as that stuff changes so quickly these days. But people should always search first, as there could be a thread on the exact same topic from the day before. Happens a lot!]

"Doesn't it take you back to when you first started doing notary work? Don't you laugh when you read some of the newbie postings here because you've already been there?"