Notary Rotary
split signing closing questions
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to November, 2013 Index

Posted by mobile2goFL on 11/27/13 6:52am
Msg #494221

I am doing my first split signing where one owner out of state signs the docs first then emailed to me and then I go to the second owner to do signing. I have never done one before so I do not know if they have separate sheets for the second signee. or if I just have to undersign and restamp each page. can anyone give me some insight as to what ill need to do or expect.

thanks\mark

Reply by VT_Syrup on 11/27/13 7:20am
Msg #494222

First, the docs can't be emailed; the physical docs with the signatures from the first signer(s) and the first notary will have to be shipped to you or the second signer(s).

There should be blanks for your signers to sign; you will have to provide a new certificate to document the acknowledgements you took or the oaths you administered. If you have rubber stamps for the certificates, you might have room on the existing pages, otherwise, you will need a supply of loose certificates. You will need at least two kinds, acknowledgements and jurats. Some notaries make up their own, and have a supply of both legal size paper and letter size paper to match the document you're attaching to.

Leave the existing certificates from the previous notary alone, even if they have errors. It isn't your place to try to fix any problem with the prior certificates.

Reply by MW/VA on 11/27/13 8:15am
Msg #494226

I think this is a good explanation. Always make sure your

ack reads that you are notarizing only for the person who's signing in front of you. It's been known to happen that the 1st notary "forgets" to line through one of the names.

Reply by LadyCA on 11/27/13 1:13pm
Msg #494268

Re: I think this is a good explanation. Always make sure your