Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Just PoliticsLeisure
Welcome to the Notary Talk General Discussion Forum. Before posting, please read the

PrevNextFirstLastNew MsgSearchThreaded ViewTopics ViewLinear View  Notary Talk Live
Msg #622558

14 replies
New to the game
By Alexis Turner on 7/29/20 3:34pm

My name is Alexis, I am new to the signing agent game (its Title Insurance Producer here) from Maryland.

What are your must haves (other than requirements, I am already a standard Notary) but things that help you the most setting up your business.

What do you wish you would have known starting out?

Did you have a mentor?

I am getting ready to send off my application for my TIP shortly but thought it would be nice to get some feedback from experienced signers.

-nice to "meet" all of yo--Alexis

Msg #622557

2 replies
Now, this is craziness
By  Cheryl Elliott on 7/29/20 3:29pm

Borrower just called me to say Carmax Financial just received his HELOC loan docs instead of his CU?? Why did I do that and not send them to his CU?

Okay, I'll research this...turns out the CU loan officer created an airbill to return docs to Carmax.

Borrower is furious his docs being delayed by circulating to an unrelated entity located in the Central Valley instead of LA. I WOULD BE TOO.

Waiting for docs for 2pm refi...I call the borrower to confirm and he says, "no, we're signing tomorrow. Confo says TODAY at 2pm. We'll see.

I negotiate a $90 fee to $125 and the confo comes in at $90. I spend time trying to explain I'll be giving this up if this $90 fee is all they are willing to pay.

Tearing my hair out, and ready for a nap! But too much happening.

I get it now. The month end circus is over, and I'm in the ring shoveling up all the elephant poop!

Msg #622552

5 replies
So what is your Covid screening script?
By CH2inCA on 7/29/20 2:13pm

And how committed are you?

I call the borrower to confirm, ask them if anyone in their household has been sick in the last two weeks.