|I'm going to necro-post a little bit; the standard for witnesses in Louisiana is that a witness to a testament must be 16 years old or older and not a legatee. For all other documents, the witness must be "of proper understanding". (Code of Evidence art. 601) This means that in a practical sense a notary can use witnesses that are 12 or 13 years old. [We discussed this in my notary course at UL.]|
** - To quote the Louisiana notary study guide (p. 268 of the 2014 edition): "Age - Except where the law specifically provides otherwise, no age requirements exist for a witness to be considered competent, as long as the witness is of "proper understanding."