Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Notary WorkJust PoliticsLeisure
Political discussion involving past and present political events, candidates and elections. Please read Msg #1 before posting.

Tough call...
Posted by  Roger_OH of OH on 8/28/07 1:45pm Msg #132
1. All things considered, yes. The draft was still in force when I turned 18, and my choices were a) be drafted and sent to Vietnam; b) get married; c) get a college deferment and hope the war would be over by the time I graduated; d) head to Canada; or e) enlist in the Navy and be on a nice safe boat 20 miles offshore. I chose the latter with the additional thought the GI Bill would pay for my education afterwards (which they did - didn't pay a dime for 6 years of college and 2 degrees). Didn't have a clue what I should do, so the recruiter told me they were paying large bonuses to become medics (I didn't think about WHY they were so short of them). So armed with my First Aid merit badge from Boy Scouts, a tidy $1500 from Uncle Sam (a goodly sum in the late '60s), and 8 weeks of training, off I went to be a corpsman, figuring at worst I'd be on a hospital ship. Ended up in sunny, scenic Da Nang
Naval Base doing helicopter medevac runs and hitting the jungle with various Marine units. Long story short, I saw horrific things at age 19 that would stay with me forever; but I also have the satisfaction of knowing a lot of guys are still around today because I was there to help them after they took some shrapnel or an AK-47 round. But the experience helped shape my life for the better; I have a very positive outlook, and enjoy life to the fullest; kind of a tribute to my friends who never made it back and will forever be frozen in time at age 20 or less.