Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Just PoliticsLeisure
Welcome to the Notary Talk General Discussion Forum. Before posting, please read the

Re: On perceived value and knowing your worth...
Posted by The Signing Resource - Kevin of CA on 3/20/24 3:36am Msg #648031
So a couple of things. I just started my mobile signing agency in Jan. I’m a Loan Signing Agent and entered this industry at the worst possible time on purpose. I love networking, I’m not afraid to open my mouth. I don’t need to make a “killing” right away. I market myself in two ways. I’m mobile, and I offer both general/specialty notary work and loan signing work. Two weeks ago I received my first assignment. Through my strategic networking efforts, someone found out I owned a mobile notary. They said they had been looking for a flexible mobile notary…bingo!
The job called for 11 sigs for 11 acknowledgements for 11 Simple IRA’s. Location 40 miles r/t. I’m in Socal. Assignment took around an hour and half No printing plus snacks and free parking. Very upscale neighborhood in West LA. My fee $100.00 per hour. The invoice read $100.00 per hr. x 1 ½ =$150.00+$165.00 (11x$15=$165.00)+$80.00 ($2.00 per mile 80 miles)
$150.00+165.00+$80.00=$395.00 Of course I let them know that because they were a first -time customer I would offer them a discount.
Tomorrow, I have my second assignment. This one is from a SS and they called with an offer of $95.00 for sellers package (30 pages x2) .08 miles from my home and no scan backs. Received doc.s 3 days before assignment. Great company so far to work with, I’ll update how things go.
I know I’ve been lucky to get these two assignments as my first experience as a notary, I believe you get what you ask for. I’m marketing myself and my business as an honest and reliable, flexible mobile notary and it’s starting to work. I’m going to try to avoid accepting low ball fees that don’t fit my business model.