Become a Louisiana notary public with Notary Rotary, Inc.
Any person may be appointed a notary public in and for the parish in which he resides and in and for any one other parish in which he maintains an office, provided that he or she:
- Is a resident citizen or alien of Louisiana
- Is eighteen (18) years of age or older
- Reads, writes, speaks, and is sufficiently knowledgeable of the English language
- Has received a high school diploma, has received a diploma for completion of a home study program approved by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, or has been issued a high school equivalency diploma after successfully completing the test of General Educational Development
- Is not under interdiction or incapable of serving as a notary because of mental infirmity
- Has not been convicted of a felony, or if convicted of a felony, has been pardoned
- Meets the requirements established by law for each commission sought
Notaries in Louisiana are commissioned for life pursuant to Attorney General Opinion 1940-42. For more information, visit the Louisiana Secretaryof State Notary Public web site.
Step 1: Complete the Application to Qualify and Notary Public Examination Registration forms
Applicants are required to complete an Application to Qualify and pay a qualifying fee of $25. The Notary Division provides online filings; forms for downloading; accepts filings by regular mail, express mail and fax; and a range of payment methods. This page provides more detailed information about filing your notary documents.
Once you have completed the Application to Qualify, you will receive an applicant ID and an access code to enable you to register online to take the state notary examination. The deadline to get your Application to Qualify and Examination Registration completed is 45 days prior to the exam. Please take note that the Application to Qualify must be approved by the Secretary of State before one is eligible to register for the examination. It is, therefore, beneficial to the applicant to submit the application well in advance of the deadline to allow for the possibility of judicial review when required.
Step 2: Prepare for and take the Louisiana notary public examination
The Fundamentals of LOUISIANA NOTARIAL LAW and PRACTICE (Louisiana Notary Public Examination Official Study Guide) is available to purchase by completing the Notary Public Study Guide Order Form. The current edition of the study guide can be obtained from the Secretary of State's office at a cost of $90.
Those already licensed to practice law in the State of Louisiana are except from the exam requirement and may proceed to the next step, purchasing the required bond or insurance and supplies.
No course or class is required by law in order for you to take the examination, but we suggest you take a good course or join a good study group. More information about the Notary exam is available online.
After you successfully pass the state exam you will receive a grade packet with your results and further instructions.
The Notary Examination is administered by the Secretary of State on the first Saturday in June and December. The fee to take the exam is $75.
Step 3: Finalize your commission
Once you have successfully pass the state exam, Louisiana requires all prospective notaries public to purchase either a $10,000 surety bond or a $10,000 errors and omissions insurance before being commissioned. Surety Bonds and Errors and Omissions policies must be renewed every five years.
In order to be commissioned by the Secretary of State on behalf of the Governor, the following documents are required:
- Two (2) Original Oaths of Office, properly executed. Send one (1) to Secretary of State and file one (1) with your parish Clerk of Court.
Official Signature page.
Original or Certified True Copy Surety or Personal surety bond that has been approved by the parish Clerk of Court in the amount of $10,000.
Original Errors and Omissions policy in the amount of $10,000.
Attorneys provide an original certificate of good standing from the Louisiana Supreme Court issued within the past 30 days. Attorneys do not have to file a notary bond.
$35 commission filing fee - check or money order (payable to the Secretary of State)
Once you have verified all items for completeness and accuracy, send all but one copy of the Oath of Office to:
Louisiana Secretary of State
P. O. BOX 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125
8585 Archives Avenue
Baton Rouge, LA 70909
File a duplicate original Oath of Office with the parish Clerk of Court within one month after the oath is administered. (In Orleans Parish file with the Clerk of Civil District Court.) (See R.S. 42:162)
Step 4: Order your notary supplies
There is no legal requirement to purchase and use a Louisiana notary seal or to maintain a journal of notarial acts. It is generally recomended that one make use of these items both for the sake of convenience and, in the case of a journal, evidence if a notarial act is ever called into question.
To order your supplies, please visit our store by clicking on the following link: Louisiana Notary Supplies. Fill out the required information and place an order for your surety bond or errors and omissions insurance, official Louisiana notarial seal, and any other supplies you may need. Your order will be processed as quickly as possible and will usually ship in less than three days.
Step 5: Check the Notary Database for your information and begin your duties as a Louisiana notary public
Once you have completed the above steps you will need to periodically check the Official Notary Database until you see that you are listed as an active notary public. You do not need to wait for your commission information to arrive in the mail; you may start on your commission date, which can be obtained from the notary database as soon as it is updated to include your commission information.