Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Just PoliticsLeisure
Welcome to the Notary Talk General Discussion Forum. Before posting, please read the

Re: Washington Mutual signings ...
Posted by  BrendaTX of TX on 5/12/05 10:52pm Msg #37439

Well... in Texas I could charge by the notary certificate 6.00 x 12 - 15 = 72.00 - 90.00 .

OR

I could explain the above and cut them a deal at 75.00 .

This was a WAMU refi...VA...big stack/probably around 90 pages.

Since the borrowers are supposed to pay you, I might even go lower, but I'd be darn sure to ONLY point and sign and answer ZERO questions.

Tonight, I dodged a bullet. The daughter was just home from college today. They had a document that was unrelated to the loan and wanted me to notarize it.

They started asking me a lot of legal questions / she asked me legal questions...I knew the answers but I was careful to say: I am not a lawyer and I cannot answer your questions because that would be a simple notary public giving you a legal opinion. You really need to take this document to an attorney and ask these questions. However, I will notarize it for you if that is what you would like me to do.

So...we got that out of the way. Daughter then put a chair between them and began to explain every document to them. When it came to the DOT it was page by page. I told her to go right ahead and I would make some notes in my journal. I could tell by her usage of legal language that she was not just a college student...probably studying law and very serious and enthusiastic about it.

Finally, I was through making out my journal and said...okay...now...the way I would have explained the DOT was to say: This is the security instrument that will be filed at the courthouse and will record this property has been encumbered. That's all I would have said. (Implying that we did not need to wade through every little legal nuance in the stack.)