Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Notary WorkJust PoliticsLeisure
Political discussion involving past and present political events, candidates and elections. Please read Msg #1 before posting.

Re: Well, just saying
Posted by MikeC/TX of TX on 12/30/19 6:32pm Msg #73058
"I am all for wind farms, but I would think they could make a small wire protective screen around each fan perhaps or set up some ultrasonic sounds to detere flying creatures from wanting to go in there?"

The turbines do make noise - that's why they're always located a distance away from residential areas. I've read that the noise level is roughly equal to a window air conditioner. They're not nearly as noisy as Trump claims they are, they don't spew toxic chemicals into the air, and they don't cause cancer (another of his bogus claims).

I'm not an engineer, but I think that encasing the blades within some sort of protective cage (such as is done with fans) is either impractical or would significantly add to the cost; otherwise, they would have done it. Airports use ultrasound to try keep birds away from the runways, but they still manage to get sucked into the jet engines.

Large numbers of birds are also killed by flying into the windows of tall buildings, because to the bird it probably looks like they're flying into open space; Trump Tower is one of those buildings.

I don't know what the solution is, but I know that wind power is a great renewable source of energy. Here in TX, wind power is a significant component of our energy grid, because we have a lot of wind.