Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Just PoliticsLeisure
Welcome to the Notary Talk General Discussion Forum. Before posting, please read the

Re: Archimerc LLC and NAT USA, Inc.-Ralph Lewis and Wayne Snyder
Posted by Donald Brett Bryson, LPA, LLC - Brett of OH on 1/13/18 9:57am Msg #588669
I'm a licensed attorney as of September 2017. I did my first signing services as a "mobile closer" for a local title agency in 1996. I worked for 6 years in title and escrow and 7 years in residential and commercial loan document preparation and loan funding for a community bank. I've done many loan signings throughout my career-- more than I can count, certainly more than 100.

I still do signing services to keep some income coming in as I try to get more legal work. My understanding is that when I do signing services nowadays I get less money and I wait longer for it. It's just the way the blind market here works. So I know sometimes I'm going to wait 60 days for a check that's a little smaller than I would like to get and smaller than a check I might get from a local title agency I work for directly. In this particular envelope I am the tail not the dog. My options are do this work and take my chances or don't do this work and do something else.

My options DO NOT include contacting title agencies or lenders diectly for payment for services, generally. The vendor agreements I have signed, at least the ones I've read, foreclosed that right for me. That's just how it is. I don't like it. When I get more legal work I'll phase out the signings more and maybe just do the ones that are very close to me and pay the most.