Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Notary WorkJust PoliticsLeisure
Political discussion involving past and present political events, candidates and elections. Please read Msg #1 before posting.

Re: What it means to be "woke"
Posted by  JanetK_CA of CA on 3/10/23 6:07pm Msg #82667
Seems to me that you - and so many others - have been gaslighted on this issue.

A black friend of mine once told me that the phrase "stay woke" (way back before any of us ever heard of BLM or Me, Too) was something mothers would tell their kids (especially sons) before going out. It was a reminder of "the talk" parents needed to have with their kids, especially in the Jim Crow south. Things like "don't look at white people," or "keep your hands where they can be seen,", etc. I'm no expert, as it was just part of a wide ranging, casual conversation, and we didn't get into gritty detail, but it was clear to me that it was all stuff that white people never have to give a second thought. Frown

Recently, "woke" has been hijacked by the likes of DeSantis and others, and turned upside down in an attempt to diffuse any efforts to raise awareness of the plight of those who don't conform in one way or another to the norms established by a powerful few. BTW, what's the opposite of 'woke'? Asleep? Unaware? Ignorant?

As for this:

"...would outlaw classroom teaching in Florida that would cause students to "feel guilt, anguish or any form of psychological distress" because of their race, color, sex or national origin.
What's wrong with that?"